Thursday, December 20, 2012
Just One of Those Days....Right?
I seem to push a lot of "friends" away or if they weren't pushed away they just left because they weren't really my friends. Sometimes I feel like I sabotage my friendships because I am unhappy with myself. I will work on this moving forward.
Today is one of those days that I feel just blah. I know that not everyone can be a friend whom I want to have a friendship and relationship with, but my goal is the ones I do have and want to be part of my life will prosper in the future. My goal is to not allow my negativity or pessimism to show through. In fact, I want all of them to go away. I don't want to be the person that has to be in control of every situation....to make it go my way. I know this is making me miserable. Again, I have all these amazing things around me happening, but I let the little things change my attitude and the person I truly want to be.
For anyone I have pushed away, I am truly sorry. For those who still consider me a friend, family, or acquaintance things will be changing.
Ricky P.
Tuesday, December 18, 2012
To Chihuahua or Not Chihuahua....That is the Question.
We are also worried about the yapping that can be associated with these dogs, but were hoping since he is so young we can curve that. Decisions, decisions!
Ricky P.
Monday, December 17, 2012
Ugh....Weight Gain, Weight Loss, Weight Gain, Weight Loss,etc...
Today I went to the store Ross during my lunch to get a new pair of jeans. The first pair I found I thought would fit and they didn't. The second pair that I thought would be too big, fit....ugh!! I want to place blame on Amber's pregnancy as the reason for my weight gain, but it's not. The blame lies strictly upon my shoulders and it's my own fault.
My weight gain, weight loss and everything is between has always been a mental struggle. I know how to lose the weight, but sometimes I just don't do what I need to do. I still continue to workout like a fiend, but my eating habits just suck. Well during the day my eating habits are great. It's when I get home or on the weekends that I struggle the most. I honestly think it sometimes just comes down to boredom. I end up overeating and not eating the best foods. I am way to easily tempted by fast and fatty foods. Ugh...
I have been a gym rat and into the bodybuilding scene since I was in my late teenage years. I had always enjoyed the working out and getting that "pump" from lifting. While working for a supplement company while I was finishing my undergrad at Arizona State I was around some amazing people. They all told me the same thing. Eat at least every 2-3 hours and eat as much as you can along with lifting hard and heavy to grow. I ate and I grew. Not only did I get pretty big, but I also got pretty fat. It never occurred to me that the food I was eating really should have been healthier. All I knew is that I was big, fat, and strong.
Looking back I have conditioned myself to continually eat like this and overeat. I truly believe that eating every 2-3 hours is the best way to lose weight, but it has to be the right food. I mentally have to transition myself back to eating healthy all the time. The healthy eating and cardio are the only way I have ever been able to consistently lose or maintain my weight.
2013 is right around the corner. I will be with family and friends that I love, but I have to do what's right for me. I need to put myself in the right situations and not allow my temptations to overtake my goals. I'm not going to talk about my resolutions as it can't just be a resolution. I understand it has to be a life change. I know not everyone will understand why, but I have to do what is right for me.
Saturday, December 15, 2012
Emergency Room Again!
Our little angel Tava seems to want to come early. Amber is 7 months and as much as we want you here Tava, just wait mmmmkay???
Anyway, we are just waiting for the nurse to finish monitoring mom and baby and we are out of here. Nothing like spending a Saturday night in a hospital.
Friday, December 14, 2012
Goodbye HTC Windows 8x phone; Hello Samsung Galaxy S3
After work, I spoke with my fiancé Amber and told her I wanted to switch it out. I was still going back and forth with either the Galaxy S3 or the Motorola Razr M. While waiting for Amber to get home I looked online for deals on the Galaxy S3 and saw that every place had it for either $149.99 or $199.99. I still can't believe that after 6 months of being out the S3 was still going for that much (under contract). Then I saw on the Google search that Amazon had the S3 on sale for $99.99 with renewing my Verizon contract. This was the same price I purchased the Windows 8x for. I contacted Best Buy and yup they price match. Off to Best Buy myself and Amber went.
So.....I am the owner of a white 16gb Samsung Galaxy S3. I have to say, even after two days I really missed the Android operating system. This phone is fantastic! Again, I did like the Windows phone, but not enough to use for the next two years or longer. I really do think that Microsoft and maybe RIM (Blackberry) could make it in this cell phone world, but they will have quite a ways to make up to compete with Android and the Apple IOS.
Ricky P.
Thursday, December 13, 2012
I just don't know....
I just don't know if this Windows phone is for me. The operating system (OS) is really nice, but there are a few things that are bugging me. The sheer number of apps for this phone compared to the iPhone and Android, but certain apps are really disappointing. The Microsoft Facebook app is terrible. I tried to download other Facebook apps, but they are even worse. The rumor is that there will be more apps and better apps created, but how long? Almost all the car magazine apps are non existent and there are others I seem to be missing too. I just don't know....
During my research before buying this phone I was slightly concerned with battery life. Today my concern became reality. The phone did last me all day, but I had to really watch the way I used the phone. I did use it quite a bit this morning, but it seemed to drain way faster then even my work cell phone (iPhone 4). By the time I got home I was at 1% left without charging it. I woke up and unplugged around 5:00am this morning and plugged back in around 7:30pm. However, by around 2:00pm I was down to under 20%. Is this normal for newer phones nowadays? I just figured I would still be around 30-40% by days end. Hmmm....
Here is one of the biggest things for me. I enjoy listening to Pandora when I go to the gym. I tried to use my new Windows phone at the gym, but my Skullcandy ear buds would not plug all the way into the phone and I couldn't download Pandora because its not available (I was going to use IHeartradio). Not only could I not use my new phone at the gym because the battery was so low (10% at around 4:30pm), but the earphones and app wouldn't work. Ugh....I just don't know.
Well tomorrow is another day. I have about two weeks left before deciding if I am going to keep this or move to another phone. I will keep you posted. Let me know your thoughts!
Ricky P.
Wednesday, December 12, 2012
HTC Windows 8x Phone!
Amber (my fiance) just purchased an IPhone 5 and I have quite a few friends that have purchased the Samsung Galaxy III. Everyone seems to like their phone for different reasons and I like both of those. However, I saw the HTC Windows 8x phone and decided to do some research. I went to a Verizon store and played with all three phones. I kept going back to the Windows phone. Those live tiles made the phone super easy to use. That day I decided the Windows 8 phone would be my next phone.
I ordered the phone from Best Buy as they had the phone on sale for $99.99 which is $100 less than Verizon ($199.99, currently). I also like Best Buys protection/warranty plan better than Verizon as they will replace the phone if anything goes wrong. Anyway, I ordered it on Friday and here it is today.
My initial thoughts are that I really like the phone. After getting the phone activated, I have added a few apps and started to get familiar with it. I'm still nervous that I could be missing out on the next best Android or Apple, but for now I am going to try it for couple weeks and if not I can always return it. I will keep you posted and do a more in depth review soon.
Ricky P.
Tuesday, December 11, 2012
Happy and Sad
So, I was thinking I have a lot to be thankful for. I just started a new job, have a new home, fiance, and baby on the way. Crazy good times!! I can't believe all of this is happening and it feels like I've accomplished a lot.....but, there is still so much more to do. Bring on 2013!!! I'm ready and excited for all the amazing things that will be happening this next year.
I mentioned earlier in a Facebook post that my brother Mike and I are dealing with the loss of both of parents during the beginning of December each year. I know that if they were still here they would be proud of both of us. Mike has been clean and sober for over 4 years and has a job that is paying the bills. My brother and I may not be as close as some brothers should be, but we both love each other. We both miss and love our parents and that is something we both had to go through. To my Auntie Freddy, Uncle James, Andrew, Allison, and all of our friends that have been there to support us during those times in our lives back in 1998 and 2009 we appreciate and love you.
An old friend of mine once said that you should never speak about yourself to other people. Let them ask and find out about the successes and issues. An individual should never broadcast their lives (even thought this is what I am doing here). The only time that this is alright is when someone is asking about those situations. If you would like to know more about me, just ask. I will try to be an open book. Speak with you soon!
Ricky P
Monday, December 10, 2012
Daily Blog
Today is a day that will take me into the future. My plan is to update this blog on a daily basis or at least as often as I can. This blogging thing is still pretty new to me, but I want to try and update it. Anyway, I look forward to your feedback and comments. Blog with you soon!
Ricky P
Wednesday, February 8, 2012
What Will I be Known For?
So if you don't know I currently work for University of Phoenix. I have the position of Military Doctoral Enrollment Advisor. Yesterday during a brief coaching/practice session with my manager I had made a comment to him that not only got him thinking, but also myself. To get these potential students to think why they are wanting to become a doctor I ask a couple specific questions. What do you want to be known for and what would you like to see changed or upgraded in the current industry or position you are in or see yourself going into? After I mentioned these questions to my manager it stopped him and he said "those are powerful questions." He is absolutely right!
Validation of ones goals, aspiration, dreams, and what they want to be known for is powerful. It's like a drug. Thinking about what someone will say once I have passed on from this life can be important. Everyone may have different levels unto which this may be true. I speculate some may want to be known as a great husband, father, friend, co-worker, etc. I want those things too, but what from a professional standpoint do I want to he know for?
I have the next few days off of work to not only relax, but to ponder my future. I finished my MBA, but now what? A lot of companies I'm applying for state I don't have enough experience or "after consideration we have decided to go with other candidates that better fit the position specifications" (Okay so I'm lumping them all together, but I think you get my point). My mind goes back and asks the question again....what do I want to be known for?
I've been in sales, marketing, and general business organizations since I was in high school. I have worked in small companies with one owner to large conglomerate organizations. No matter where I've worked I have always wanted to start my own company. I have seen how companies are run. I see the good they do and the mistakes they make. After I graduated with my undergrad from Arizona State and started working for Saxon Mortgage (now out of business), as an Account Executive I pretty much was self employed. I worked for them but I made my own hours and basically ran my own business. I miss it. Is that what I want to be known for? Why am I not doing it?
These few days off are for me to work on my business plan(s)...Yes, I have a couple ideas running around my head and they're good ideas. Then why has it been years since I have revisted or worked on them? Am I scared? What am I afraid of?
During my MBA, I had a focus of small business management. My last class helped me to get a small business plan down on paper. This class out of all the MBA classes was exciting and I thoughorly enjoyed it. I understand again....this is my professional passion! I want to start and run my own business. The graduate level education has helped me to see what I ultimately want do in my professional career. Better yet, what I want to be known for.
The avenue of my mindset must be cognizant of this goal, dream, and aspiration. I cannot let fear of failure or even fear of success be my ultimate demise. It can enabler for me to be cautious during this journey but recognizing these things are just part of the ride....this journey called life.
An old friend mentioned to me that a person should not speak of ones successes rather have it be from an outside source. Basically, I should not talk about what I am going to do, but that I should just do it and let others mention it. My goal with this blog is to help others think about what they want to do with their lives. I know for me I want to be successful, happy, and enjoy what life brings to me both personally and professionally. I hope the same holds true for you. Live your life, its the only one we have!
R.P.
