Yesterday I received my new HTC Windows 8x phone from Verizon. I got a chance to play around with it all day. I just don't know....
I just don't know if this Windows phone is for me. The operating system (OS) is really nice, but there are a few things that are bugging me. The sheer number of apps for this phone compared to the iPhone and Android, but certain apps are really disappointing. The Microsoft Facebook app is terrible. I tried to download other Facebook apps, but they are even worse. The rumor is that there will be more apps and better apps created, but how long? Almost all the car magazine apps are non existent and there are others I seem to be missing too. I just don't know....
During my research before buying this phone I was slightly concerned with battery life. Today my concern became reality. The phone did last me all day, but I had to really watch the way I used the phone. I did use it quite a bit this morning, but it seemed to drain way faster then even my work cell phone (iPhone 4). By the time I got home I was at 1% left without charging it. I woke up and unplugged around 5:00am this morning and plugged back in around 7:30pm. However, by around 2:00pm I was down to under 20%. Is this normal for newer phones nowadays? I just figured I would still be around 30-40% by days end. Hmmm....
Here is one of the biggest things for me. I enjoy listening to Pandora when I go to the gym. I tried to use my new Windows phone at the gym, but my Skullcandy ear buds would not plug all the way into the phone and I couldn't download Pandora because its not available (I was going to use IHeartradio). Not only could I not use my new phone at the gym because the battery was so low (10% at around 4:30pm), but the earphones and app wouldn't work. Ugh....I just don't know.
Well tomorrow is another day. I have about two weeks left before deciding if I am going to keep this or move to another phone. I will keep you posted. Let me know your thoughts!
Ricky P.
No comments:
Post a Comment